Rites of Spring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rites of Spring

This weekend -main bay. 1 race random leg thingy. We're in on Flash(Multi 23). Anyone else?

Looks like a great weather forecast.

Info for the masses

NOR and Entry

Course and SI's

Fleet Assignments
    " I just found out my nest egg has salmonella"

h2oshots.com Photo Gallery

Comment

Buoy Boy sez G is off station...

Comment

He lost another one?

Comment

Fortunately G isn't one of the course marks.

This is my first time. Are the courses always this bizarre? I'm talking about a long downwind leg with a half-mile jog upwind or on a beam reach right in the middle of it. Apparently designed to discourage shorthanders from flying spinnakers. Not to mention trying to remember what the next mark is!

Comment

yes, these courses are always a challenge for the shorthander!

I have a laminated central bay course sheet, picked up at the boat show a few years ago I think - bring the Sharpie and in those 5 minutes before your start outline the course.

At least, that's what I try to do - one year it was blowing 25+ with major squalls coming in (2 years ago?) and I was happy to just get the course mark identified.

Comment

First timer's ignorant question:
              Uh, how does this multiple courses thing work? Does the RC make secret/random pairings of courses & fleets and only make the pairs known at the 5 minute warning?

With no landlubbing weekend agenda and a decent forecast, I registered not realizing this is one of those wacky -- fun wacky -- SF races like 3BF. Not sure I can make the skipper's meeting so it'd be great to have an idea what I'm in for.

Comment

They also chat over the radio, but yeah, you might not know till your 5 minute warning.

Comment

Thanks, Hapa. Time to laminate me a yra marks map, too, I suppose.

Comment

Originally posted by Hanno View Post
                    Fortunately G isn't one of the course marks.